XXI Householder Symposium on Numerical Linear Algebra

The Householder Prize

Nominations are solicited for the Alston S. Householder Prize XXI (2022). The award will be presented to the author of the best dissertation in numerical linear algebra submitted by the recipient of a PhD earned between January 1, 2020 and December 31, 2021. Nominations can be made in the period December 1, 2021 - February 28, 2022.


Submit a PhD thesis for the Householder Prize (closed)

The term numerical linear algebra is intended to describe those parts of mathematical research that have both linear algebraic aspects and numerical content or implications. Thus, for example, a dissertation concerned with the numerical solution of differential equations or the numerical solution of an optimization problem would be eligible if linear algebra is central to the research contribution.
To qualify, the dissertation must have been examined and deemed to have passed during the period of the prize. However, the PhD degree or equivalent need not have been officially awarded during this period.
Candidates from countries in which a formal dissertation is not normally written at that level may submit an equivalent piece of work. The Householder Prize, given every three years, was established at the 1969 Gatlinburg Symposium (now renamed the Householder Symposium) to recognize the outstanding contributions of Alston S. Householder, 1904-1993, to numerical analysis and linear algebra.

Entries will be assessed by an international committee consisting of:

Previous Householder Prize winners were:
1971 F. Robert (Grenoble)
1974 Ole Hald (New York University)
1977 Daniel D. Warner (University of California, San Diego)
1981 E. Marques de Sa' (Coimbra) and Paul Van Dooren (K. U. Leuven) (shared)
1984 Ralph Byers (Cornell University) and James M. Demmel (University of California, Berkeley)
1987 Nicholas J. Higham (University of Manchester)
1990 Alan Edelman (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) and Maria Beth Ong (University of Washington) (shared)
1993 Hong-Guo Xu (Fudan University) and Barry Smith (New York University) (shared)
1996 Ming Gu (Yale University)
1999 Jorg Liesen (Bielefeld)
2002 Jing-Rebecca Li (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
2005 Jasper van den Eshof (Utrecht University)
2008 David Bindel (University of California, Berkeley)
2011 Bart Vandereycken (KU Leuven) and Paul Willems (Bergische Universitat Wuppertal) (shared)
2014 Nicolas Gillis (UC Louvain) and Yuji Nakatsukasa (UC Davis)(shared)
2017 Marcel Schweitzer (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne) and Edgar Solomonik (University of Illinois) (shared)
2020 Estelle Massart (UC Louvain) and Stefano Massei (Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa) (shared)