XXI Householder Symposium on Numerical Linear Algebra

General information

The next Householder Symposium will be held from 14-19 June 2020 at Hotel Sierra Silvana, Selva di Fasano (Br), Italy. Attendance at the meeting is by invitation, and participants are expected to attend the entire meeting. Applications are solicited from researchers in numerical linear and multi-linear algebra, matrix theory, including probabilistic algorithms, and related areas such as optimization, differential equations, signal and image processing, network analysis, data analytics, and systems and control. Each attendee is given the opportunity to present a talk or a poster. Some talks will be plenary lectures, while others will be shorter presentations arranged in parallel sessions. Applications are due by 31 October 2019.
This meeting is the twenty-first in a series, previously called the Gatlinburg Symposia, but now named in honor of its founder, Alston S. Householder, a pioneer of numerical linear algebra. As envisioned by Householder, the meeting is informal, emphasizing an intermingling of young and established researchers.
The seventeenth Householder Prize for the best PhD thesis in numerical linear algebra since January 1, 2020 will be presented. Nominations are due by January 31, 2022. 

The Householder Committee seeks a team to organize the 2025 Householder Symposium.



The Householder Symposium is organized by the Householder Committee, which is responsible for issuing invitations and designing the scientific program. Members serve a fixed term, with new appointments taking place at each Symposium. The Householder Prize Committee assesses nominations for the best thesis in numerical linear algebra over the past three years.

The Local Organizing Committee handles site arrangements for the symposium.

Householder Committee
Zhaojun Bai, University of California at Davis, USA
David Bindel, Cornell University, USA
James Demmel, University of California at Berkeley, USA
Zlatko Drmac, University of Zagreb, Croatia
Heike Fassbender (chair and SIAM representative), Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany
Sherry Li, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
Volker Mehrmann, Technical University of Berlin, Germany
James Nagy, Emory University, USA
Valeria Simoncini, University of Bologna, Italy
Andrew Wathen, Oxford University, UK

Local Householder Committee
Dario A. Bini, University of Pisa
Fasma Diele, IAC-CNR, Bari
Beatrice Meini, University of Pisa
Teresa Laudadio, IAC-CNR, Bari
Carmela Marangi, IAC-CNR, Bari
Nicola Mastronardi (chair), IAC-CNR, Bari
Stefano Serra Capizzano, University of Insubria
Valeria Simoncini, University of Bologna